Another Plug for “Peterson Field Guide to Finding Mammals”

Vladimir Dinets had a post a few weeks ago about his new book, “Field Guide to Finding Mammals in North America,” but it’s such a great work I want to push it one more time. I just got my copy and am really impressed. There are two main parts: an overview of field sites for North America, from Wolves in Yellowstone Nat Park to Tundra Vole in the Aleutians to Humpback Whales off of Bermuda. Then there is a species guide, for everything from snorkeling with Narwhals to Merriam’s Shrew, which “sometimes follows swarms of Mormon crickets in the same way Gray Wolves follow Caribou.” If you encounter a cricket swarm, “look for shrews scurrying along its tail edge.” There are flashes of dry wit throughout; how he got some of these barbs past an editor, I am not sure, but be sure to look up his utterly delicious entry for “Man,” after armadillo and before manatee in the “Other Animals” section of the book.

I have a hard time imagining anybody who won’t get some tips on finding lifers from the book. It also is a fun prompt just to go out and LOOK — you won’t see anything new or interesting unless you first make the effort to go out and try.

Charles Hood, Palmdale, CA

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “Another Plug for “Peterson Field Guide to Finding Mammals””

  1. vdinets Says:

    Thank you! You should’ve seen the jokes the editor removed…
    Just kidding. I was also surprised by their tolerance.

  2. heavenlyjane Says:

    I had a delicious evening reading my copy. Vladimir, what you’ve accomplished is quite amazing. Bravo!

  3. heavenlyjane Says:

    There was one map that had one location numbered in correctly. Location was correct but number was wrong.

    • vdinets Says:

      If it’s in Nevada, I found it already; if not, please let me know. Those maps took me almost as much time as the rest of the book… and there are still errors! 😦

  4. Porcupine Tracker Says:

    Works for me. I just ordered a copy. Looking forward to it (and I hope there is stuff on porcupines!)


Leave a Reply

